Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Security Note: This Feature Requires Special Permissions

To access this feature, your 25Live user must have administrative security permissions (be in the -1 security group). If you would like your permissions changed, contact your 25Live administrator.

25Live allows for editing multiple locations (in bulk) based on saved location searches. 

Bulk editing locations is useful when needing to do large adjustments during late pandemic changes. See below for a tip on mass adjusting default layout.

How to Bulk Edit Locations

1. Go to the Location Search Section

You can use the Go to Search button or the Search link in the More menu.
Image: You can use the Go to Search button or the Search link in the More menu.

Navigate to the Search section using the Go to Search button in the top navigation bar. There is also a Search link in the More menu in the top navigation.

2. Choose a Saved Location Search

Choosing saved location search
Image: You must choose a saved search created by a user rather than any Pre-Defined searches for bulk editing.

Be sure the Locations search type is selected, and choose the search you want to use from the Saved Searches dropdown menu. You must select a saved search that was created by you or another user, such as those in the All of Your Searches section of the list. 

Reminder: Choose a User Saved Search

You may not choose from the Pre-Defined Groups list of searches (such as Your Starred Searches) when bulk editing locations. Instead, choose from your saved searches under All of Your Searches.

If you don't currently have a saved search available that includes all the locations you want to bulk edit, you may create and save a new saved search, then come back to bulk edit those locations.

Use the Search button to run the search if the search doesn't automatically load.

3. Choose From the Locations List after Selecting the Bulk Edit Option

Choosing the bulk edit option from search results
Image: Selecting the Bulk Edit option from the Search results screen.

Note: Bulk Selection is Limited

Selection for bulk editing is currently limited to 1,000 locations or less to optimize performance.

On the search screen, use the Search Actions dropdown to select the Bulk Edit option.

The Locations List screen allows you to check which locations you want to bulk edit. After selecting, use the Go to Actions button to continue.


Tip: Mass Adjusting Default Layouts


When you need to adjust the default layout for multiple locations at once:

Mass adjusting default layouts
Image: Animation demonstrating mass adjusting default layouts.

  • Select the Add/Edit Layouts option
  • Set Create New Layout to No
  • Select the desired layout
  • Set Update Capacity for Existing to No
  • Check the Set as Default Layout box

See the video demonstration example.

4. Select and Run Available Actions

Select from the available actions from the Select Action dropdown menu. Each action has its own set of criteria to enter and notes about the action results.

Add/Edit Layouts

Animation showing editing the max capacity of a layout
Image: Options when adding or editing layouts.

Switch the Create New Layout toggle:

  • to No to edit an existing layout
    • If you're creating a new layout, name it
  • or to Yes to create a new one
    • If you're editing an existing layout, select it from the dropdown

Set the Update Capacity for Existing toggle to Yes to add or update the selected layout and apply the percentage max capacity.

  • Set the Calculate New Layout Capacity Using toggle depending on whether you'd like to use a Flat Number or Percentage
  • Use the Add/Subtract Current Layout Capacity toggle depending on whether you wish to change
    • Options will become available to set the Layout Capacity or to +/- Current Layout Capacity

Check the Set as Default Layout box if you want this to be the default, whether you are adding a new layout or editing an existing layout.

Use the Update Layout button to save the changes.

Tip: Planning to Transition Between Different Capacities?

If you need to plan to transition or build a hybrid social distancing schedule between capacities, see Managing Location Capacities for Pandemic Planning (Series25 Customer Resources login required) for best practices and advice.

Example: Adding a New Layout

For example, if the location(s) you're editing have a max capacity of 100. To add a new "Social Distancing" layout with a third of that location's max capacity, you'd name the layout, enter 33 as the Percent of Location Max Capacity, and click Add/Edit Layout.

Note: Capacity is Always Rounded Down

The calculated layout max capacity is always rounded down to the next lower whole number.

Edit Location Capacity


Image: Options when editing an existing location’s overall capacity.

Using the Select Action list, choose Edit Location Capacity.

  • Set the Calculate New Max Capacity Using toggle depending on whether you'd like to use a Flat Number or Percentage
  • Use the Add/Subtract Current Max Capacity toggle depending on whether you wish to change
    • Options will become available to set the Location Max Capacity or to +/- Current Max Capacity

Use the Update Capacity button to save the changes.

Example: Editing Overall Location Capacity

For example, for the location in the first image below, there is an overall Max Capacity of 44 with five layouts (one of them a new Social Distance layout).

Capacity example before  Capacity example after
Image: The layouts and capacities for an example location before and after entering 50 percent Location Max Capacity.

To decrease the location's max capacity and that of its layouts by half, you'd enter 50 as the Percentage of Location Max Capacity which would result in the capacity changes in the second image above.

It's easy to double the capacity again (200 percent) when you're ready to move back to full capacity.

Edit Location Fill Ratio

Enter a Location Fill Ratio percentage number.

Use the Update Fill Ratio button to save.

Edit Location Comments

Type within the rich text editor to add or edit comments for the locations, including text styling.

Use the Update Comments button to save.

Edit Location Default Setup Instructions

Type within the rich text editor to add or edit instructions for the locations, including text styling.

Use the Update Default Set Up Instructions button to save.

Edit Location Partition

Use the Select an item dropdown menu to choose an available location or "No Partition".

The Update Partition button will save your change.

Add/Remove Location Scheduler

Toggle the Add/Remove Scheduler control to the desired action. Then, search and choose from the Select Scheduler dropdown menu.

Use the Add (or Remove) Scheduler button to commit the change.

Warning: Be Sure You're Making an Informed, Purposeful Change

Adding, changing, or removing a scheduler can affect your event/course workflow, interrupt or remove important notifications, and affect approvals.

Add/Remove Location Categories

Toggle the Add/Remove Categories control according to whether you wish to Add or Remove.

Use the Select Categories button to reveal a category search with checkboxes. Save using the Done button in that display.

The Add (or Remove) Categories button will save your choices.

See Adding and Editing Categories in Master Definitions.

Add/Remove Location Features

Toggle the Add/Remove Features control according to whether you wish to Add or Remove.

Use the Select Features button to reveal a feature search with checkboxes. Save using the Done button in that display.

The Add (or Remove) Categories button will save your choices.

See Adding and Editing Features in Master Definitions.

Edit Notification Policy

With the Update Notification Policy By toggle, choose between Contacts or Template as an organizing option.

    • If by Contacts, toggle the Add/Remove Contacts control to reveal the Select Contacts button. You can then search and select one or more contacts to add or remove.
    • If by Template, Select Template and select from the Approval Type dropdown menu.

Use the Update Notification Policy button to save.

Add/Edit Location Custom Attributes

Choose from the dropdown menu, then complete any fields revealed by your choice.

Use the Update Custom Attributes button to save.

See Adding and Editing Custom Attributes in Master Definitions.

Remove Location Custom Attributes

Choose from the dropdown menu, then use the Remove Custom Attributes button to save.

Add/Remove Location Relationships

Toggle the Relationships control to Add or Remove. Then Select a relationship and use the Select Locations button.

Save using the Update Relationships button.




Copyright © 2021 CollegeNET, Inc.  Note: This information is for CollegeNET Series25 customer use only.
Series25 Customer Resources • Terms of Use •  Privacy Policy • Learn About Series25 • Contact CollegeNET