Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

When you save and run a search, you have the option to share the search. When you do this, a separate copy of that search is created under the other user's account for them to use, rename, and modify. You can share a search to individual contacts, to the public search user, or to 25Live Publisher.

Sharing a search with another 25Live user will not generate an email notification.

Required Security Permissions

Sharing a search requires Admin 2.0 permissions (Share Searches With Others) in Series25 Group Administration.

To Share a Search

1. Create or Select a Saved Search

You may...

Search Actions menu
Image: The Share option is in the Search Actions menu.

After you run your search, you can use the Share option in the Search Actions menu.

2. Option A - Add Contacts to Share Search

Share Search dialog
Image: You must select contacts to share the search with.

Start typing the name(s) of contacts you wish to share the search with. 25Live will search as you type to reveal matching names. Check next to the names of contacts you want to share the search with. You can filter by only favorite contacts, select all shown, or select none using the buttons provided.

Tip: If You Don't See the Contacts Dialogue

If you don't see a place to enter contact names to share your search with, use the EDIT link in the Share Search dialog to reveal the Contacts search.

3. Option B - Share By Group

Sharing search by group
Image: Check the Share By Group box to choose a 25Live security group to share the search with. 

25Live also provides the quick option to share a search to a security group. Check the Share By Group box to reveal a searchable dropdown list of available groups. Choose a group by typing ahead or scrolling through the list.

4. Complete the Sharing Process

Share Search dialog
Image: A progress animation shows as your search is shared.

Use the Done button to close the Contacts choices, then the Share Search button to initiate sharing. The modal display will close upon success. Use the X in the upper-right corner to exit the Share Search dialog.

Repeat these steps to share your search with additional contacts.

Copying a Saved Search

Navigate to the Search section by using the Go to Search link in the top navigation bar on every page of 25Live. There is also a Search link in the More menu in the top navigation.

1. Run the Saved Search

After selecting the area you want to search in (Events, Locations, etc.), use the adjacent drop-down menu to reveal choices for Pre-Defined Groups of searches, Your Starred Searches, and a list of All of Your Searches. Select one and use the Search button to run the search.

2. Save the Search

Use the Save As link to save a copy.

Editing a Saved Search

Navigate to the Search section by using the Go to Search link in the top navigation bar on every page of 25Live. There is also a Search link in the More menu in the top navigation.

1. Run the Saved Search

After selecting the area you want to search in (Events, Locations, etc.), use the adjacent drop-down menu to reveal choices for Pre-Defined Groups of searches, Your Starred Searches, and a list of All of Your Searches. Select one and use the Search button to run the search.

Reminder: You Must Have Proper Permissions

You can only edit saved searches you created or have ownership/permissions to edit. Contact your 25Live Administrator if you cannot edit something you think you should have access to.

2. Switch the Search Type Toggle

Different types of searches
Image: Toggle the search type to edit a saved search.

Switch the search type toggle to Quick Search to view the SeriesQL (the internal search language of 25Live) syntax for your saved search or to Advanced to view the building blocks for your search. Make any necessary changes.

3. Save the Edited Search

Use the Save link adjacent to the Search button to save a new version, or use the Save As link to make a copy with your new edits.

Renaming a Saved Search

Edit a saved search as described above, and type in a new name in the Save or Rename Search box.

Deleting a Saved Search

Navigate to the Search section by using the Go to Search link in the top navigation bar on every page of 25Live. There is also a Search link in the More menu in the top navigation.

1. Run the Saved Search

After selecting the area you want to search in (Events, Locations, etc.), use the adjacent drop-down menu to reveal choices for Pre-Defined Groups of searches, Your Starred Searches, and a list of All of Your Searches. Select one and use the Search button to run the search.

 
Image: Options in the Search Actions drop-down menu.

2. Delete the Search

Use the Search Actions drop-down menu to reveal the options. Select Delete then confirm in the Deletion Confirmation box that is displayed.

Delete Confirmation box for searches
Image: Confirm the deletion in the dialog box.

Warning: Deleting a Search is Forever

If you delete a saved search, you cannot recover that search, so be very sure before confirming.

Sharing Searches to 25Live Publisher

After creating or loading a saved search, use the Publish button to log in to 25Live Publisher. Follow the steps in the Sending Events to 25Live Publisher topic to share your search to calendars with 25Live Publisher. You can share Event or Location searches. If you share a Location search, the events associated with your search results are sent to the calendar(s).




Copyright © 2021 CollegeNET, Inc.  Note: This information is for CollegeNET Series25 customer use only.
Series25 Customer Resources • Terms of Use •  Privacy Policy • Learn About Series25 • Contact CollegeNET